Skip to main content
EU Science Hub

Competence areas and learning progress

EntreComp consists of 3 competence areas:

  • Ideas & Opportunities
  • Resources
  • Into action

Each of these split in five specific competences.

EntreComp Competence Areas

Competence areas and competences are interrelated and should be treated as a whole. There are different threads beneath each competence that describe what they mean in practical terms. These threads are the building blocks of each competence.

EntreComp Competence Areas 2

Learning progress

The progression in entrepreneurial learning is made up of two aspects:

  1. Developing increasing independence and responsibility in acting upon ideas and opportunities to create value;
  2. Developing the capacity to generate value from simple and predictable contexts up to complex, constantly changing environments.

EntreComp associates a learning outcome to every thematic thread across 8 progression levels from foundation to intermediate, advanced and expert level, each split into two sub-levels.

  • At Foundation level, entrepreneurial value is created with external support.
  • At Intermediate level, entrepreneurial value is created with increasing autonomy.
  • At Advanced level, responsibility to transform ideas into action is developed.
  • At Expert level, the value created has considerable impact in its reference domain.

The image below shows how the EntreComp can be progressively unfolded to reach a finer grain of detail.

EntreComp Competence Areas 3